Luxury Strollers: The New Mom “Status Symbol”

Post by Erica J. of Young Royal Couture Children’s Clothing Boutique http://www.youngroyalcouture.com

What’s the big deal? It’s just a stroller right? As long as it’s safe, secure and can carry a few items in the under carriage, a basic Graco stroller should do right??? WRONG!!! Enter the take over of luxury baby strollers. Over the past several years, there has been a huge surge in the skyrocketing land of baby strollers. I remember strolling the aisles of a big baby depot chain store and being totally unsatisfied with the look of traditional strollers.  I thought to myself that I couldn’t be caught dead pushing some bulky brown over sized contraption down the street and still be a Haute Moma!!! There was no way!!! I ventured off to what is now one of my favorite baby gear store’s in Chicago called Galt baby. I fell in love!!! There it was, my new best friend. I felt as if the heavens opened and angels appeared!!! Ok, maybe it didn’t happen exactly like that, but you get the point! It was sleek, elegant and not to mention black (which is my favorite color). It was the Uppababy Vista. It was the Mercedes Benz of strollers. It had all the bells and whistles.  It came with a bassinet that had a ventilated canopy, aerated mattress, extendable sunshade and toddler seat. They didn’t hold back on this one! It was the most amazing pieces of baby gear I had ever laid my eyes on…….until I saw the price!! Yikes $729.99!!!! The price was quite steep, but looking back, I must admit, I’d do it again. I really got my monies worth. It has lasted over 3 years, and that’s a long time in kids years. It has withstood traveling, zoo trips, heavy rain, lugging in and out of the car, jogging, and anything you can think of (my daughter even sleep in the bassinet as a newborn, but we won’t go there lol) . Not to mention my daughter is pretty rough on things! Strollers are indeed the new status symbol. Posh moms are spending big bucks to be trendy and set themselves apart from the regular stroller world. Pull up to a park in the Gold Coast and I’m sure your find strollers well off into the $1600 range, easily. In a sense, these luxury strollers are somewhat of the new handbag era. The more your strollers cost, the higher your status. I wonder if this trend will fade……never the less, not of all us are privileged to afford such luxuries, and that doesn’t make you less then anyone else. Here’s my top 5 luxury baby strollers for 2014 for under $900.

uppababy_0056-jke

Uppababy Vista $729.99 http://www.uppababy.com

Bugaboo Bee

Bugaboo Bee $649 http://www.bugaboo.com

Xplory-carry-cot-purple2

Stokke Xplory $1099 http://www.stokke.com

Orbit-Baby-G2-Stroller-Ruby-Red

Orbit Baby G3 $900.00

origami-bassinet

Origami $849.99 http://www.amazon.com

Post by Erica J. of Young Royal Couture Children’s Clothing Boutique http://www.youngroyalcouture.com

Leave a Reply

